Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.
Sep 16

Psychedelic Book Club

September 16 @ 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm PDT

Virtual Event Virtual Event
Free

GSAPS Psychedelic Book Club will meet at a new day and time during the months of September and October.

Please join us on Friday, September 16th, from 6:30pm-8pm Eastern Time, 3:30pm-5pm Pacific Time.

We hope this message finds you well and in high spirits! This September’s Psychedelic Book Club selected readings come to us from Dr. Michael Lifshtz, Ph.D., and his collaborators.

Dr. Lifshtz is an Assistant Professor in the Division of Social and Transcultural Psychiatry at McGill University in Montreal, Canada. He studies practices that aim to transform subjective experience—from meditation and hypnosis to placebos, prayer, and psychedelics. He is particularly interested in how these practices can modulate feelings of agency, so that thoughts, actions, and sensations can come to feel as if they are emerging from a source beyond the self. Michael did his Ph.D. in Neuroscience at McGill and then a postdoctoral fellowship in Anthropology at Stanford. His work combines phenomenology, neuroscience, and ethnography to shed light on the plasticity of consciousness.

We are very lucky to have Dr. Lifshtz joining us to discuss the following articles:

  • Lifshtz, Michael, Eli Sheiner, and Laurence J. Kirmayer. “Cultural neurophenomenology of psychedelic thought: guiding the “unconstrained” mind through ritual context.” The Oxford handbook of spontaneous thought: Mind-wandering, creativity, and dreaming. Oxford University Press, Oxford (2018): 573-594.
  • Olson, Jay A., Léah Suissa-Rocheleau, Michael Lifshtz, Amir Raz, and Samuel PL Veissière. “Tripping on nothing: placebo psychedelics and contextual factors.” Psychopharmacology 237, no. 5 (2020): 1371-1382.

Bonus reading:

  • Veissière, S. (2016). Varieties of tulpa experiences: The hypnotic nature of human sociality, personhood, and interphenomenality. Hypnosis and meditation: Towards an integrative science of conscious planes, 55-76.

Once you’ve set up your account, go to the Psychedelic Book Club group, and click on the Documents menu for September’s reading material, available to download.


We will still be meeting during the third week of each month, but we will now be meeting at a slightly later time on FRIDAY instead of Thursday.

So please note that we will be meeting on:

FRIDAY, Sept. 16th from 6:30 pm EST to 8:00 pm

Please see the chart below for time conversions:

EST 6:30pm to 8:00pm

CST 5:30pm to 7:00pm

MST 4:30pm to 6:00pm

PST 3:30pm to 5:00pm

AKST 2:30pm to 4:00pm

Details

Date:
September 16
Time:
3:30 pm - 5:00 pm PDT
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Join the Book Club

Organizer

GSAPS
Email:
info@gsaps.org
View Organizer Website